8/31/14

Alight Plus Size Online Retailer: Review and 3 Month Giveaway


  As a plus size woman, it can be so hard to find clothing that is both at decent price and that looks good. Going to the mall is such a chore for me, I tend to just order things online since most stores don't carry my size. I like to think that I dress well and hate having to spend a ton of money on fashionable plus size items. Recently, I came across Alight.com, an online retailer that specializes in plus size merchandise. After taking a look around their site I knew immediately that this would be my new go-to site for online "window shopping". I was super excited to get the chance to work with this company.

   Alight purchases their merchandise from other retailers, so I was excited to see that the tag in the top that I received said this particular item was from Deb's, one of my favorite stores for plus size shopping. Although Alight buys items from other retailers, many of the items on the site were made exclusive for them. On the site you can find nearly 90 brands and over 1800 styles are available to choose from! Alight also carries the largest selection of plus size designers, including Blue Plate, Revolt, Angels, Last Kiss, Ruby Rox, Fashion Love, Fashion Web, French Laundry, Pink Apple, and Derek Heart. Available for purchase are ~500 plus size dresses for prom, weddings, and more. The product experts at Alight are able to assist you with any questions about any of our styles, fabrics, colors and size. I love the variety, it really can be you one stop shop when it comes to plus size shopping. You can find sizes 12-34 and there are so many options for each size!

   Most items can be returned or exchanged for a different size. The exception here being evening dresses (except for Alex Evenings) priced at $100 or more. The return items must be unworn, unwashed, unaltered, and have the tags still attached and returned within 30 days. Store credit will be issued on returned items that are priced $25.00 or less. Returns that arrive after 30 days from the day the package was received by the customer, will receive store credit for only the current selling price, which means if there is a sale on that item, you will be receiving the sale price as a return.Returns made after 60 days will receive 25% fee. Ground shipping costs will be returned if the return is the result of Alight error. More on the return policy can be found here.

   I love that they have a fit guide to help you choose the right size! Many brands have their own size chart and have it included on the site, this make finding the perfect fit easy! Alight also explains how to take your own measurements, which is awesome! I wish more sites would include this information as I never really know where I should be measuring. 

   Alight agreed to send me one shirt, in exchange for my honest review. I had the opportunity to pick out a few things that I like, and from there they would choose which item I was sent, free of charge. The item I received was the Sun and Moon top. It is such a pretty and feminine top. I love pink and lace, this shirt combines the best of both worlds! I think this shirt is flirty and fun, and I can't wait to wear it out on a night on the town. I received a 2x, although I kind of wish I asked for a 1x as it is a little bit big. This is no fault of Alight, it is mine for not paying attention! This shirt is currently on sale for $29.99. 

Photo from the site:
 My photos:



   I never know how to stand when taking these kind of photos, I always look so awkward! This top is beautiful. I absolutely love how soft it is. I might take it in a little since it is a little big on me, but overall it is a great top. The color is true to the original photo, my crappy cell phone camera doesn't pick it up so well though. I would style this with leggings. I think it would look great with a pair of gray ponte leggings and some cute boots. Their representatives were super friendly and I recked the item in a timely manner. The quality of the item was great, it didn't feel cheap and seems like it will last. 


The TLDR Breakdown

What I like about Alight:
  • Finding items in your size is easy, as you are able to search items by size.
  • There are so many different items to choose from.
  • They were very friendly.
  • Shipping was super quick. 
  • Free sample of 20 count Carefree pantiliners included in package. 
  • There are many sort options, you can sort by size, brand, trend, event, and more.
  • Great photos that show true color of items.
  • They use real plus size models in their photos, which a lot of companies don't do.
Suggestions/recommendations/dislikes:
  • On the site, the item I received does not have it listed that it is a Deb item. I think adding the original brand name would be beneficial as there may be some brands that customers may not like. 
  • Nothing else really, overall I am very pleased. 

   Alight has generously offered 3 items as a part of three giveaways over the next three months. Each month a new giveaway widget will be posted, so if you do not win one month be sure to come back and enter for the next month! Prize will be picked out from Alight based on the size of the winner.  In order to enter you must sign up for their email list. All other entries are optional, but the more entries you do the more chances of winning you will have. Chance of winning depends on how many people enter. This is open to US and Canadian residents who are 18 years or older, unless you have parental permission to enter. Void where prohibited. Enter using the rafflecopter form below. You must follow instructions on each entry that you do. You do not have to do all of the entries, just the ones you want. The more you do the better chance of winning you have. To see the instructions on an entry hit the +1 button. Each entry has a different instruction. Once the giveaway has ended a winner will be emailed, and will have 24 hours to email me back with the requested information, unless they have provided mailing info in the giveaway form. Good Luck! Alight is responsible for shipping.
This giveaway will run through September 30th, a new one will start October 1st.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

8/28/14

Ozeri WeightMaster Digital Bathroom BMI Scale Review




  Ozeri is a manufacturer of digital products for the modern home. I like to think that we "keep up with the Joneses" as far as technology goes, so this is a company I can appreciate. From our smart TV to our Wifi wireless led lightbulbs that we can turn on/off with our phones technology is everywhere in my home. I love old products with a new twist on them. Naturally,  I was excited to have the chance to review the Ozeri WeighMaster Digital Bathroom Scale.


  The Ozeri scale is pretty unique. It has a red/green light up indicator that shines red for weight gain and green for weight loss. I think this is a cool feature for people not necessarily focused on their exact weight, but focused on gains/losses. This indicator also tells you how many pounds you have gained or lost.  I love seeing that green light, and dread seeing the red! I typically have been weighing myself shortly after I wake up. Since I have been working out I am seeing more green than red. Seeing red just encourages me to harder that day. Your weight is shown in a display above this light in easy to read numbers. Unlike a lot of scales, this scale can weigh up to 400lbs. You are able to create up to 5 accounts on the scale, and the scale can automatically distinguish between users once they step on. With two of us in the home, this is a useful feature. This scale stores your weight loss/gains and will show you the net change from previous days. This is great if you forgot to record your weight the previous day. The scale is made from impact-resistant tempered glass, and equipped with non-slip scratch-resistant feet that protects your floors from being scratched.

  If you are going to go through the trouble of creating a scale with so many awesome features you might as well make it look pretty as well. This scale is offered in black or white, I received white.  I love how sleek the scale is. It would fit the decor of almost any bathroom. I would love a clear scale. I think that would look really cool.


The TLDR Breakdown

What I Like:
  • Sleek design
  • Light weight
  • Accurate measurements
  • Green/Red display makes weight management easy
  • Automatically recognizes user (we have two profiles on our, one for me one for him)

What I Dislike:
  • Really, the only thing I dislike about the scale is the BMI tracking, as the BMI system is not an accurate measurement of body fat content. The BMI does not take into account muscle, and since muscle weighs more than fat it may tell that a person is obese when they are in fact not. It may be useful to some, but totally inaccurate for others. Personally when using this device I tend to disregard the BMI aspect of it and just focus on the weight aspect of it. This isn't really a fault of the scale itself. 

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

8/26/14

One Direction The Looks Collection Now Available at Macy's!

How exciting! One Direction's new "The Looks Collection" makeup kits are now available at Macy's! This collection consists of 3 exclusive makeup kits, each with their ow unique pieces. Each set comes in a collectible keepsake tin. Inside each tin are bold and beautiful lip sticks, eye liners and shadows,  nail polishes and stencil sets. Personally, I would love to try the Midnight Memories Kit. I am all about red lips and dark eyes.

Much like the One Direction band members themselves, this prestige make-up line is fun, bold and a tad mischievous, featuring vivid shades, premium formulas and chic, collectible packaging and components. 

I am a huge fan of fun packaging when it comes to makeup. I love when the packaging is asbeautiful as the makeup I am using. The new One Direction makeup packaging is so fun.



25 lucky people win the Looks Collection, autographed by the members of One Direction. Enter using the widget below. Winners will be contacted by the sponsor. I am not the host of the giveaway and it is not guaranteed that winners will be from my blog, as this giveaway is hosted on many different blogs. Official rules can be seen my clicking "view official rules" down below. Good luck!

 Be sure to check out the Facebook page to learn more about this edgy collection! 

*This is a sponsored post, powered by BrandBacker. I was not compensated for this blog post*
;value="22654" />

RTGS 20 Micro LEDs String Lights Review

   We love playing with different types of lighting in my home. Most of the lights in our apartment are Hue Phillips LED wireless lights. They can be turned on and off with out cell phones, tablets, and computers. We can change how dim or bright we want them, set them to a timer, and even change the color of them whenever we feel like. I recently got the chance to test out some Rtgs 20 Micro LEDs String Lights in the color Blue. Since we love playing with our lighting so much, I jumped at the opportunity!


   The Rtgs Micro LED lights are perfect for party lighting, some accent lighting, or as a makeshift flashlight when you find that that batteries have died in your real flashlight. There are 20 bright lights, spaced out four inches apart, on each 7foot strand. The wire is so easy to manipulate, you can create any shape you wish, and they will fit almost anywhere. My boyfriend has a Parrot AR Drone Quadricopter that he plans to attach these lights too for some easy night flying. I am thinking about using them sewing them to a sweater for an Ugly Sweater christmas party!

   I like the idea of having a lot of light near my makeup mirror. These lights in white would be absolylty perfect for that. I did test it out with my blue lights, and while it looked cool, it wouldn't really be the perfect lighting for putting on makeup. I do think that they would look really neat in the pot of a house plant, behind a fish tank, or around your windows. Green and red lights could be combined for a beautiful Christmas wreath!
Lights, in the dark 


 Blue light makeup mirror

 DIY Flashlight: Light strands and clear "frosted" mug


   The Rtgs 20 Micro LEDs String Lights is so simple to use. It takes 3 AA batteries (not included) in a clear battery pack. There is a large toggle switch clearly labeled On/Off. It is light weight, making it easily to hang. 

   These lights come with a 2 year warranty. If for any reason you are unsatisfied with your purchase, or the item breaks, simply contact RTGS by phone or email and they will work with you unitl you are satisfied.

    Features as listed on Amazon:
  • 20 Super Bright Blue Color LEDs Lights on 7 Ft Long Silver Ultra Thin Wire with 4 Inches Distance Between LED Bulbs and 12 Inches Clear Cable Between Wire and Battery Box. TOTAL STRING LENGHT OVER 7.5 FEET.
  • Lights Have Over 20 Years of Life Span and Use Fraction of Energy Needed by Regular Light Strings. They are also much brighter than Starry Lights or Fairy Lights.
  • Ultra Thin, Bendable but Sturdy Wire with LED Lights is Totally Submersible but NOT BATTERY BOX!!!
  • Newest Clear and Small Battery Box That is Easy to Hide Requires 3 AA Batteries (Not Included)
  • Over 48 Hours Non Stop Operating Time and Much Longer When Used with Breaks

What I like about the product:
  • Very bright blue light
  • Bendable, takes any shape you need
  • Lightweight, fits almost anywhere
  • Ships quickly
Dislikes or Suggestions:
  • I would love to be able to change the color or intensity of the lights.
  • This seems to be for indoor use only, it would be great if created for indoor and outdoor use. These could be a great camping accessory. I do think the battery pack would have to be remade to accommodate this, as there are some holes in it that dirt or rain could get in.
   Overall, I am pleased with these lights. They are simple to use, as a light like this should be. There are so many uses for them, really the only limit is your imagination. These lights can be purchased on Amazon for $6.25, free 2 day shipping if you have amazon prime!

Sound off in the comments: How would you use these lights if you had them? 

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

8/25/14

Bloggers Helping Bloggers: Help me win my dream vacation.

Hey guys, I would love it if you would vote for me to win this contest! The prize is a 5 day trip to one of my favorite resorts in Cancun. I would love to be able to win this for my boyfriend and myself. It's super simple to vote. Just click here and then click vote. The photo should look like this:

Need help with something? Leave your link in the comments! This includes twitter follows, facebook likes, blog comments, page views... Lets help each other out!


8/23/14

8/21/14

Fulcrum Gallery: Liz Jardine Sun Shower Print Review

*Disclaimer, I was given a free product in exchange for this review, opinions expressed however are my own.*

Since I live in an apartment and am on a recent college graduate budget, interior design hasn't been one of my main priorities. I haven't really put much effort into decorations and such. Don't get me wrong, I have the occasional painting or photograph hanging here and there, but nothing special. My walls have always just been kinda bland. I was elated when Fulcrum Gallery reached out to me for a review.  I was given the opportunity to choose a design under an allotted price point to review for free.

  Fulcrum Gallery launched in 2002, when two friends believed in the same ideology: " do what you love, money will follow".  When it was first started, the site was a "view only" art site. Salvador Dali was the first artist featured on the site. As time went on, Fulcrum Gallery allowed artists to submit their work to be featured on their site. As more and more artists submitted their work and to the disappointment of site viewers who were unable to purchase their favorite pieces, Fulcrum Gallery went into sales. The online store opened up in 2003.

  Originally, the Fulcrum Gallery store off hundreds of all original artwork pieces. In 2004 Fulcrum Gallery went into the fine print business, expanding from hundreds of paintings to thousands of paintings and prints, this same year they also started to offer framing for paintings and prints. Now you can search their site and find 200,000 beautiful prints. The creators of Fulcrum Gallery take pride in their "blood, sweat, and tears" founded business.

  Fulcrum Gallery offers a 30 day satisfaction guarantee. If you are unsatisfied with your order, for any reason-no questions asked, you may return the product for a full refund or replacement.

  On the Fulcrum Gallery site, you can find artwork for any room in your house. You are able to search artwork by room, color, price, artists, style, and size. I was most interested in finding a piece to in my living room. My living room is a light shade of blue, and I thought it might be hard to find a piece to match. I first started my search my looking at the Living Room section of the site. From there, I filtered by size. I wanted something large so I selected "at least 24 inches". I also filtered artwork by selection pieces that were the color blue. I fell in love with a print right on the first page by Liz Jardine titled Sun Shower. This contemporary tree wall art fit beautifully into my living room. The colors were spot on, over all I am very impressed with this print. I opted to not have it framed, as the cost brought it over the allotted value that I was offered to choose from. This item shipped out super quick, I had it within days of first speaking to the company.

Print as shown on the website:

Print I received:


Packaging:


Out of the box:




About this print:
  The Sun Shower fine art print by Liz Jardine is simply beautiful. I find it to be very unique, I have not seen anything like it in the homes of my friends. I love the colors in this print, and how well they go with my living room. I can't really say that there is anything I dislike about this product. This print starts at $36.59. The cost goes up depending on how you customize the print. You can have it laminated or framed, both of which bring the cost of the item up. 

  Fulcrum Gallery was with me every step of the way. They made choosing this print so simple and notified me as soon as it shipped.  I am impressed with how friendly the Web Promotions department was. 


Likes:

  • Fast Shipping
  • High Quality Print
  • Beautiful Colors
  • Friendly Staff
Dislikes:
  • Honestly, I cannot think of anything I dislike about this print or the company. I am very impressed.


Sound off in the comments: Do you have a favorite painting or artist? 

8/20/14

Todays workout: Fitness Blender's 5 Day Workout Challenge Day 1 Video

   UGH, today was a tough one! It has been raining all day so instead of going for a run I decided to do a free workout video on youtube from the Fitness Blender channel. I really enjoy doing their videos. I like that they aren't screaming in your face like a lot of the videos you see advertised on television. Fitness blender has videos for all fitness levels. I started out doing their low impact cardio videos two months ago. I certainly would not have been able to finish this if I hadn't! I love that they making out seem like fun, and that they offer their videos for free on youtube. I don't really plan to do the whole workout challenge unless it continues to be rainy outside or I just don't want to get ready to leave the house. I might add in another video before the night is over.



   I didn't read the description before doing this video, and if I had I would have noticed that you do need some weights for a few of the exercises in the video. I don't have any weights so I substituted in some heave objects that I found around the house. I might just have to get some weights now because that was a pain!

Workout outfit of the day:
 A pair of  Walmart Danskin Now shorts, a black cami from Kohls, and the Old Navy sneakers I talked about in the previous blog post.



 
Initial Thoughts: Oh, this won't be so bad.


End thoughts: There is a reason we are sitting on the floor. My jello legs won't stand up!






8/18/14

Todays Workout: 1.7 Miles Walk and Run

I got some new shoes for my workouts as my Nikes are pretty much on their last day. These Women's Mesh Running Sneakers are from Old Navy. I really wanted their hot pink ones but they were sold out in store. I purchased these last night because I was in need of new running shoes. These were very comfortable and light. More comfy than my Nikes even! The mesh top allowed air in and out, this kept my foot cool. I did size up because my normal size was too small in this shoe. My entire workout wardrobe basically consists of Old Navy gear. Being plus size, it can be hard to find good workout clothes that fit. I really like the Old Navy Active collection. I have two of their active tops, two pairs of compression capri leggings, and now a pair of their sneakers.

         
*excuse my leg stubble*

Todays running route was my usual route. I run through 2 cemeteries in my little town. They have hills and flat paved roads. 


 My workout music today consisted of the Foxy Shazam pandora station. 
This gets me pumped every time.




 Mid run selfie, it's scary. 
This top is part of the Old Navy Active collection. I purchased this back in April and it is still my favorite workout shirt!

Run breakdown:
The first mile(1 mile): 14minutes 24 seconds This includes a 3 minute break, I forgot to pause the timer. I ran this mile
The last .7 mile (point 7 mile): 13 minutes 37 seconds. I walked this last .7 mile. 

Last Mondays run was much better, but this was okay considering I haven't been out running since last week. I really need to be more consistent as I have my first 5k race next month. I didn't bring a water bottle, which I think really would have helped. 

*NOT A SPONSORED POST*

8/11/14

Todays workout: 2.2mi run&walk

For the past couple of months I have been going for walks in my neighborhood to keep active. Each time I increase the distance a little bit. Today I hit a milestone! I ran my fastest mile and finished a loger walk quicker than I have completed any of my shorter walks, by about 10 minutes. I am so excited! I was on a cross country team when I was in 8th grade, and I was always the last to finish. Today I beat my middle school time and can run farther and faster than I have ever been able to run! I completed my mile in 10 minutes and 55 seconds. I am well aware that this isn't a great time, but it is my best time, and I am proud of it!


 Time breakdown:
  • The first mile I ran, my time was 10 minutes and 55 seconds.
  • I walked the second mile, I took a break to visit some animals, and rested for minute or two. This            mile time was 18 minutes and 15 seconds. 
  • I  had .2 miles till I was home. This last .2 miles took 2 minutes 40 seconds. 
  • Total time: 31minutes 54 seconds.
Todays Workout Outfit of The Day:



Bonus photos: How cute are these guys!?


Insane Inflatable 5k

Oh boy, what have I done?! Yesetrday I signed up for the Insane Inflatable 5k. This will be the first 5k that I will run in. I have participated in many 5k walks before, but running will certainly be a challenge. It is no secret that I am totally out of shape and overweigh. I thought this would be a way to motivate me into being more active. I am not ashamed of my body, but I would like to be more fit. The race is September 28th and I have joined the 10:45 time slot on a team called "Win or Lose, We Still Booze". What a cute name! I guess it's time that I start training! Wondering what the Insane Inflatable 5k race is? Check out the video below! Do you have any advice for me? Leave any words of wisdom in the comments! Is there race near you?




 I have not nor will I be compensated for this post. I wrote it on my own with no expectation of compensation. I wrote this to talk about the journey I will be making as this race gets closer.

PocketDerm Online Dermatologist

Does someone in yours household suffer from acne? If so, check out the video below to learn how to manage and get rid of it. I had acne in middle school and high school. It was so painful, I really wish I knew about this product then! PocketDerm is a new service which enables you to see a dermatologist online and get a prescription acne medication shipped to your door. Check out the video then Get your first month FREE by clicking here.
*Disclaimer: Post contains affiliate links*
Sound off in the comments: What did you learn while watching the video? Have you ever suffered from acne? How did you keep it under control?

8/7/14

Nana Dees Lava Love Body Lotion: Review & Giveaway

*Disclaimer: I received a small sample of Lava Love lotion, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.*

Made by moms, Nana Dees spa quality products are made from natural ingredients that smooth, moisturize, pamper, and nurture your skin. From bath products, to body and feet products, Nana Dees offers many types of products! You are sure to find what you're looking for.

Nana Dees offer three types of Bath products: Fizzies, Soaps, and Bath Salts. The product that caught my eye the most in this category would have to be their Bath Fizzies. There are 10 different types of fizzies that can be purchased. These fizzes will leave your water colorful and your skin feeling and smelling great! Lets not forget how cute they are!
source: http://www.nanadees.com/category-s/1884.htm

In the Foot category you can find creams, soaks, and oils. The foot creams have not yet been released on the website. There are three different foot soaks available for purchase. There are also three different oils available.



In the Body category you can find lotions, massage oils, and  perfume oils. There are 7 different scents for the lotions, and you can buy them in 3 different sizes. The lotions are made in small batches, by hand, with love! You can be sure that the lotion you receive is of the highest quality. These lotions are packed with skin loving oils that are great for all skin types. The perfume oils come in a small container with a rollerball for easy application. These perfumes will leaving your skin feeling great, and since they are made with quality oils that won't harm your skin!

I had the opportunity to receive a small sample of Lava Love lotion, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. This lotion has the most beautiful scent and left my skin feeling so soft. My skin has been so rough since the crappy New York winter we had and finding a lotion to sooth my skin has been impossible. I wish I could have a lifetime supply of this lotion. It goes on so smooth, is thick and rich, and doesn't leave my skin feeling oily like a lot of the healing lotions I have tried do. Did I mention that the scent is amazing? It is soft and warm. I wish you could all smell it! I was a little surprised that the product came out white, for some reason I thought the bottle was clear and the product was pink, but that is perfectly fine.


This lotion is perfect for romantic nights out or a night out on the town. The scent lasts for hours. I applied it before doing some heavy cleaning (including ferret cages) and the scent remained on my skin. I really respect that about a product. I hate having to reapply over and over to keep the scent fresh.





Ingredients for the Lava Love lotion include:
 Purified Water, Sweet Almond Oil (Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis), Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii), Avocado Oil (Persea Gratissima), Cocos nucifera (Coconut Oil) Emulsifying Wax NF, Stearic Acid, , Essential Oil, Germaben II E, Vitamin E

 What I like about the product:
  • Leaves my skin feeling amazing
  • Has a beautiful scent 
  • Doesn't leave skin feeling oily
  • Made from natural products, no harsh chemicals
What I dislike:
  • That I don't have a lifetime supply of this product. =p
  • The bottle is a little hard to squeeze
Interested in learning more about Nana Dees? Check out the link below:

Want to buy this product for yourself? Nana Dees has graciously offered up an exclusive coupon for my readers to use on their website. Using coupon code Gabby20 will save you 20% on your purchase of $30 or more! Hurry though, this won't last long! It expires September 7th.

I got to try the lotion, one lucky winner will get to try an Amber Scented Bath Fizzy! This is open to US residents who are 18 years or older, unless you have parental permission to enter. Void where prohibited. Enter using the rafflecopter form below. You must follow instructions on each entry that you do. You do not have to do all of the entries, just the ones you want. The more you do the better chance of winning you have. To see the instructions on an entry hit the +1 (or whichever number that entry has) button. Each entry has a different instruction. Once the giveaway has ended a winner will be emailed, and will have 24 hours to email me back with the requested information, unless they have provided mailing info in the giveaway form. Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sound off in the comments below: What are your favorite bath/shower products?