9/15/14

Make Amazon Your One Stop Halloween Shop: Pets Edition



Are you the kind of person that dresses up your pet for halloween? Me too! Halloween is my FAVORITE holiday, and I love to get my pets in on the action. A couple years ago I found my costume on amazon, this year I am finding costumes for my pets! Shop Pets Halloween - Best-Selling

How cute are these star wars costumes? I can't get over them!
 

Check out these cuties as well! There are so many different costumes, I am sure you can find the perfect one for your pet!

*post contains affiliate links*

Sound off in the comments: If you could dress your pet up as anything this halloween, what would it be?

9/12/14

Easy Install Mega Mesh Screen Door

  I live in the middle of nowhere, where the air is clean and the mosquitos are abundant. My apartment is on the top floor of a duplex, and I have a nice deck to hang out on, but some days I just want to hang out inside while letting in some fresh air. Most of my windows won't open for one reason or another and I don't have a screen door, just a normal door going to my back deck. I recently had the opportunity to review the Mega Mesh Screen Door, and I jumped at the chance.
  Since I moved into my apartment 3 years ago I have wanted a way to let more fresh air in, without letting the bugs in as well. This screen door is the prefect solution to country apartment living. Since my apartment didn't come with a screen door to the deck, I am able to install this door easily with all of the included assembly accessories, and when I take it down it won't leave a trace! I installed the screen door in the tiny hallway that leads to my deck. I would have installed it where the door to my deck is, but the door opens inward and would I would have had to install the door on the outside of my home, and I'm not sure that this is intended to be installed outside. Instillation was super simple. Included are strips of velcro, one side of the velcro has a sticky back that sticks to surfaces and the other strips of velcro are attached to the screen door. Simply line up the velcro, stick the velcro tape to the wall and affix the screen door to the velcro. It really was just that easy. 
  This product  is designed to be pet friendly, which I thought meant it keeps the pets in. That was not the case, as this screen door is designed to let pets in and out. That is perfect if you have pets that you let outside. I would love an option that does not let pets pass through as I too much of a chicken to let my cats outside. I have figured out a way to alter this to keep my little guys in. It does keep the bugs out which is a huge plus, especially living in the middle of nowhere like I do. 
  This door fits doors up to 36"x83" area and has 26 strong magnets that will keep the flaps closed when no one is going through it. I like that the flaps automatically close, so there is no need to worry that you didn't close or secure them. The hands free entry makes it useful for carrying objects. Overall, I am very pleased with this door. 

This is the view from my outside door to inside, 
the screen door is installed in my little hallway that leads to my deck. This area opens up into my kitchen. I like that from my kitchen I cannot see any of the velcro. It looks nice from inside my home.
Please excuse the hole in the wall, I had my pipes burst in January and have kept it open incase it happens again this winter. 


What I like about the product:

  • Super simple to install
  • Strong tape keeps product in place
  • Stays closed
  • My cats won't go near it, I think they are afraid of it
Suggestions/Dislikes
  • I would love an option that keeps pets from going through
  • Different color options would be awesome as well
I do recommend this product for those looking for a cheap or temporary alternative to putting up a screen door. It is simple to install and easy to use. It truly does keep the bugs out. Two thumbs up! This product is sold for $28.95. To learn more about this product or to purchase it you can click any of the links above in this post. 

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Post contains amazon affiliate links.

9/11/14

Weight Gurus Smartphone Tracking Digital Body Fat Scale



  Weight Gurus values your health, good products, and good people.  Weight Gurus has a series of scales to help you reach your weight loss goals. Their scales have a large range of features to help you keep track of your weight, body fat, muscle mass, body water, bone mass, and more. If you are working on just maintaining your weight, there is a weightless feature that shows you not your weight, but the change in your weight.

  I really wanted to like the  Weight Gurus Digital Body Fat Scale. If it worked the way it should have, it would have been a great addition to my home. We love our high tech devices, but this one missed the mark. It's possible that my scale was just a lemon, but every single time I stepped on it the weight was different, and not by just a pound. Even if I step on to weight myself, step off, then weight myself again the measurements can be up to 8 pounds off. The BMI calculator was also way off compared to my other scale and BMI charts. Measurements take forever to pop up on the screen, and you if you plan on using the feature where you can scan the barcode into the Weight Gurus app on your phone so it keeps track of everything for you then you have to be very quick because the barcode does't show up for very long on the screen. You are able to have multiple accounts on this scale, and it is supposed to automatically be able to tell who is standing on it, but I find that if the people who are using the scale are of similar size that it has a hard time telling who is who. I have read a lot of good reviews, so I am convinced that mine was just a lemon. 






 What I liked about the scale:
  • The ability to track measurements on your phone quickly and easily.
  • Bright screen is easy to read.
  • Sleek modern design, would look good in any home
  • You are able to focus on weight loss by choosing an option that only shows change in weight instead of your actual weight.
  • 100% customer guarantee and comes with a 5 year warranty. 
  • The ability to change from pounds to kilograms 
What I would change:
  • Faster measurement time, takes too long to display measurements.
  • A quick use feature, that would just display your weight instead of having to wait for it to calculate everything before showing you any numbers. 
  • More accurate measurements. 
I am impressed with the idea of this scale, but the execution, at least on my scale, left something to be desired. I really wanted to love this scale, but it left me just saying "meh". This scale can be purchased on amazon clicking any of the links above for $24.99.

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. All opinions are my own. Post contains amazon affiliate links.

9/8/14

9/8 Workout: Wii Fit and Fitbit

  I have been slacking a little bit on my workouts since I picked up on hours at work, but I have the next two weeks off of work and intend to get back into action.

  For todays workout I focused mostly on cardio, along with a little bit of balance and strength training using the Wii Fit. I started with some yoga, doing the first 8 Wii Fit yoga exercises. I then spent some time doing some of the strength training, failing miserably. I attempted pushups and planks, these activities are not my friends. From there I moved onto some of the balance games. I spent about 4 minutes doing their balance activities. I then moved onto the cardio. I spent 1 hour doing the "Advanced Step" workout, where the user steps on and off the Wii Fit board for 10, 20, or 30 minutes. There are three different paces in each workout that you can follow. I tend to stick with the faster pace. I did the 10 minute step to start, then took a water break and got started on the 20 minute step. The good thing about these exercises is that you can do them while you change the input on your TV, so you can do this walk while watching your favorite show. I watched a little Full House during my 20 minute step. After, I took a longer break to make some dinner for myself and to relax just a bit.  I started the 30 minute step exercise when Friends came on the TV. I really find that doing the WiiFit step exercises while watching a show makes it so much more enjoyable. It was an easier workout, but it got me moving, and thats what really matters.

I spent 1 hour and 45 minutes working with the Wii Fit today.

  I use my Fitbit Zip Wireless Activity Tracker to keep track of my steps each day. I lost it about a week ago, and finally found it today. For those who are wondering, the Fitbit is a pretty neat little activity tracker. Basically, it's a glorified pedometer. It counts all of your steps, calories burned, miles walked, activity levels and has a clock. Some of the fancier models can track your sleep. On the Fitbit website or mobile app you can input all of the foods you eat and water you drink. I have the cheaper clip model. They do have some more expensive bracelets models available. Below are photos of the Fitbit screen and the stats as found on the website.
                   




Calories                                                                                          Time


Steps                                                                                                           Distance, in miles

Activity Level, this smile means I met my 30min workout goal. The 30min goal is automatically set for everyone


Fitbit automatically sets your step goal to 10,000 a day.

Todays WOOTD (workout outfit of the day)


Pink top: Walmart
Black Compression Capri leggings: Old Navy
Shoes: Old Navy

 Just 4 more weeks until my race!

*Not a sponsored post. Neither Fitbit nor Nintendo have compensated me to write this post. Post does contain amazon affiliate link*

AvoJuice Coconut Melon Juicie by OPI from Beauty Care Choices



  My skin can never catch a break. Living in New York my skin faces all sorts of torture. The harsh winters dry my skin out so bad that I can hardly control the itch, in summer my skin burns even with sunscreens. Getting tattoos sure doesn't help either, but like a potato chip, you can't have just one. I am always looking for different types of lotions for my itchy dry winter skin, brunt leather summer skin or a healing lotion for my freshly tattooed skin.

  OPI AvoJuice Skin Quenchers Coconut Melon is a great product for my summer skin. In the summer I don't need a thick and heavy lotion. The AvoJuice lotion is very light and has a lovely summery scent to it. The scent reminds me of all of those yummy drinks I was throwing back in Cancun. The moisturizing formula is not greasy, like I expiated it to be. I figured that since it was so light, it would not absorb into my skin very well, but that wasn't true. It absorbs very quickly and the pleasant scent lasts longer than a lot of lotions that I have tried. A little goes a long way with this lotion. I don't find myself needing to reapply throughout the day, which is very convenient since I don't feel like lugging a bottle of lotion around with me when I am aout and about.

  This lotion is made from many natural ingredients like real melons, coconuts, avocado, and aloe. Other ingredients can be found below:


 This is a product that is used in real nail salons. It reminds me of the nice lotions I used when I was in cosmetology school. I received a 6.6oz bottle for free to review. A bottle this size costs $7.99 and can be purchased here at Beauty Care Choices.  Beauty Care Choices is a leading online resource for customers looking for a large selection of salon quality beauty products. Beauty Care Choices takes pride in helping customers locate their favorite salon products that they cannot find anywhere else. All products found on their site are sold directly from the manufacturer. Their products are new. They do not sell old, discontented, or outdated products. Free shipping is offered on purchases totaling $49+.





















My TLDR Breakdown.

What I like about the about the lotion:
  • Pleasant scent
  • Light formula
  • Made from some natural ingredients (along with other ingredients)
  • Shelf Life of 16 months
  • Bottle is recyclable with your other plastics
  • Made in the USA
  • Leaves my skin as smooth as a babies bottom
  • Leaves my tattoos looking brighter
  • Absorbs quickly
  • Long lasting scent
  • Multiple languages on bottle made product accessible to many different people
  • Sold of a reputable salon website
Suggestions/Dislikes:
  • The bottle does not make it clear if this product is tested on animals
  • A thicker formula for winter would be amazing
  • Packaging looks like it's straight out of the 70's, a makeover to bring it into the 2000's would be   neat
 To learn more about Beauty Care Choices or to purchase the AvoJuice lotion you can visit the Beauty Care Choices website.

**I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.**

 Sound off in the comments: What are your favorite dry skin products?

9/4/14

InstaNatural Deep Cleansing Facial Oil


Check out my first youtube video for the InstaNatural Deep Cleaning Facial Oil! It is my favorite skin cleansing product. I am so happy that I got to try it out. As far as my video goes, there are some things I need to work on in the future. I need to sit back away from the camera and get my whole head in shot. I also totally said the Konjac Sponge was a certain price, when I meant to say that the Cleansing Oil was the price.

Product Links:
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Post contains amazon affiliate links.

Sound off in the comments: What recommendations do you have for bloggers who want to start making youtube videos?

9/3/14

DIY Shea Butter Lipsticks



   I have been receiving a lot of questions about how I make some of my lipsticks! I started making lipstick a couple of weeks ago after I received 100% Organic Raw Unrefined African Shea Butter to review. I knew I had to do something a little different than what some of the other review bloggers who wrote about the product were doing. I went to the store and bought the largest box of Crayola Crayons that I could find and I rounded up my supply of argan oil. These are the three ingredients that I used.  Cyraolya crayons are non-toxic. Remember, they are made for children and must be safe for them incase they eat them.

   The proportions of ingredients really depends on how opaque you want your lipsticks. If you want it as more of a sheer gloss then you are going to use more shea butter. If you want a lipstick with a more coverage and more of a matte finish you will add less shea butter. I find that a ratio of 1 crayon to 1/2 teaspoon of shea butter and 1/2 teaspoon of argan oil makes the perfect balance of coverage and finish while still moisturizing. Lately I haven't been measuring. I just take a small clump of shea butter and pour a little argan oil into the bowl. It is fun experimenting with different textures and opaqueness. I really like matte lipstick, so I use less Shea Butter. You can use just about any combination of crayon that equals up to 1 whole crayon. I like to do half of one color and half of another to make a unique colors.


   The first step is to set up a double boiler. I don't have one so I used a small pot filled halfway with water and placed an oven safe bowl on top of that. Once the water is boiling place all ingredients in the bowl and continuously stir until melted. When it is fully melted pour the liquid into a container. I have been using those little cups that you often see people make jello-shots in. You can use old lipstick tubes or other small containers as well. After, place the lipstick in the freezer for about 10 minutes to harden up, then let sit another hour or so until cooled completely.


 

















   I like this lipstick because it is so much cheaper than buying lipsticks. It is super simple to make and your color choices are only limited to the amount of crayons you have. It is a lot thicker than normal lipstick, you might have to warm it up with a finger just a little bit before you apply. I do this by swirling my finger on the top layer of the lipstick. I want to experiment with some glow in the dark crayons. You could add cosmetic safe glitter to your lipstick for another way to customize it.


About 100% Organic Raw Unrefined African Shea Butter:
   I received this product for free, in exchange for an honest review.  The first thing I will say is that this is not your typical Shea Butter product. It is raw and unrefined. It has a very distinct scent and texture. The scent is a little woody and sort of smokey, but it is an all natural scent. I didn't find it displeasing. One could add essential oils if needed. Although it is a solid, it can be applied to the skin easily as you heat the product up in your hands. It absorbs quickly and is not greasy I love the way it leaves my skin feeling. I would store this in the fridge if you live in a hot and humid part of the world.


   I do not like the packaging very much, as it comes in a ziplock type baggie. This makes it hard to get out sanitarily. I would have preferred that it come in a plastic jar, to make using the product much easier.

   This Shea Butter is rich in vitamins A, E, F & K. Raw Organic Unrefined Shea Butter is great for topical use on skin and hair. It can be used in many different product, such as the lipstick I made above as well as homemade lotions, soaps, conditioners and more! I found this to be the perfect product for my needs. It is not edible.

To learn more about the Shea Butter click here:  100% Organic Raw Unrefined African Shea Butter

Bonus Photo: I spilled one all over my phone:


I received the Shea Butter product mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Post contains Amazon affiliate links.

8/31/14

Alight Plus Size Online Retailer: Review and 3 Month Giveaway


  As a plus size woman, it can be so hard to find clothing that is both at decent price and that looks good. Going to the mall is such a chore for me, I tend to just order things online since most stores don't carry my size. I like to think that I dress well and hate having to spend a ton of money on fashionable plus size items. Recently, I came across Alight.com, an online retailer that specializes in plus size merchandise. After taking a look around their site I knew immediately that this would be my new go-to site for online "window shopping". I was super excited to get the chance to work with this company.

   Alight purchases their merchandise from other retailers, so I was excited to see that the tag in the top that I received said this particular item was from Deb's, one of my favorite stores for plus size shopping. Although Alight buys items from other retailers, many of the items on the site were made exclusive for them. On the site you can find nearly 90 brands and over 1800 styles are available to choose from! Alight also carries the largest selection of plus size designers, including Blue Plate, Revolt, Angels, Last Kiss, Ruby Rox, Fashion Love, Fashion Web, French Laundry, Pink Apple, and Derek Heart. Available for purchase are ~500 plus size dresses for prom, weddings, and more. The product experts at Alight are able to assist you with any questions about any of our styles, fabrics, colors and size. I love the variety, it really can be you one stop shop when it comes to plus size shopping. You can find sizes 12-34 and there are so many options for each size!

   Most items can be returned or exchanged for a different size. The exception here being evening dresses (except for Alex Evenings) priced at $100 or more. The return items must be unworn, unwashed, unaltered, and have the tags still attached and returned within 30 days. Store credit will be issued on returned items that are priced $25.00 or less. Returns that arrive after 30 days from the day the package was received by the customer, will receive store credit for only the current selling price, which means if there is a sale on that item, you will be receiving the sale price as a return.Returns made after 60 days will receive 25% fee. Ground shipping costs will be returned if the return is the result of Alight error. More on the return policy can be found here.

   I love that they have a fit guide to help you choose the right size! Many brands have their own size chart and have it included on the site, this make finding the perfect fit easy! Alight also explains how to take your own measurements, which is awesome! I wish more sites would include this information as I never really know where I should be measuring. 

   Alight agreed to send me one shirt, in exchange for my honest review. I had the opportunity to pick out a few things that I like, and from there they would choose which item I was sent, free of charge. The item I received was the Sun and Moon top. It is such a pretty and feminine top. I love pink and lace, this shirt combines the best of both worlds! I think this shirt is flirty and fun, and I can't wait to wear it out on a night on the town. I received a 2x, although I kind of wish I asked for a 1x as it is a little bit big. This is no fault of Alight, it is mine for not paying attention! This shirt is currently on sale for $29.99. 

Photo from the site:
 My photos:



   I never know how to stand when taking these kind of photos, I always look so awkward! This top is beautiful. I absolutely love how soft it is. I might take it in a little since it is a little big on me, but overall it is a great top. The color is true to the original photo, my crappy cell phone camera doesn't pick it up so well though. I would style this with leggings. I think it would look great with a pair of gray ponte leggings and some cute boots. Their representatives were super friendly and I recked the item in a timely manner. The quality of the item was great, it didn't feel cheap and seems like it will last. 


The TLDR Breakdown

What I like about Alight:
  • Finding items in your size is easy, as you are able to search items by size.
  • There are so many different items to choose from.
  • They were very friendly.
  • Shipping was super quick. 
  • Free sample of 20 count Carefree pantiliners included in package. 
  • There are many sort options, you can sort by size, brand, trend, event, and more.
  • Great photos that show true color of items.
  • They use real plus size models in their photos, which a lot of companies don't do.
Suggestions/recommendations/dislikes:
  • On the site, the item I received does not have it listed that it is a Deb item. I think adding the original brand name would be beneficial as there may be some brands that customers may not like. 
  • Nothing else really, overall I am very pleased. 

   Alight has generously offered 3 items as a part of three giveaways over the next three months. Each month a new giveaway widget will be posted, so if you do not win one month be sure to come back and enter for the next month! Prize will be picked out from Alight based on the size of the winner.  In order to enter you must sign up for their email list. All other entries are optional, but the more entries you do the more chances of winning you will have. Chance of winning depends on how many people enter. This is open to US and Canadian residents who are 18 years or older, unless you have parental permission to enter. Void where prohibited. Enter using the rafflecopter form below. You must follow instructions on each entry that you do. You do not have to do all of the entries, just the ones you want. The more you do the better chance of winning you have. To see the instructions on an entry hit the +1 button. Each entry has a different instruction. Once the giveaway has ended a winner will be emailed, and will have 24 hours to email me back with the requested information, unless they have provided mailing info in the giveaway form. Good Luck! Alight is responsible for shipping.
This giveaway will run through September 30th, a new one will start October 1st.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

8/28/14

Ozeri WeightMaster Digital Bathroom BMI Scale Review




  Ozeri is a manufacturer of digital products for the modern home. I like to think that we "keep up with the Joneses" as far as technology goes, so this is a company I can appreciate. From our smart TV to our Wifi wireless led lightbulbs that we can turn on/off with our phones technology is everywhere in my home. I love old products with a new twist on them. Naturally,  I was excited to have the chance to review the Ozeri WeighMaster Digital Bathroom Scale.


  The Ozeri scale is pretty unique. It has a red/green light up indicator that shines red for weight gain and green for weight loss. I think this is a cool feature for people not necessarily focused on their exact weight, but focused on gains/losses. This indicator also tells you how many pounds you have gained or lost.  I love seeing that green light, and dread seeing the red! I typically have been weighing myself shortly after I wake up. Since I have been working out I am seeing more green than red. Seeing red just encourages me to harder that day. Your weight is shown in a display above this light in easy to read numbers. Unlike a lot of scales, this scale can weigh up to 400lbs. You are able to create up to 5 accounts on the scale, and the scale can automatically distinguish between users once they step on. With two of us in the home, this is a useful feature. This scale stores your weight loss/gains and will show you the net change from previous days. This is great if you forgot to record your weight the previous day. The scale is made from impact-resistant tempered glass, and equipped with non-slip scratch-resistant feet that protects your floors from being scratched.

  If you are going to go through the trouble of creating a scale with so many awesome features you might as well make it look pretty as well. This scale is offered in black or white, I received white.  I love how sleek the scale is. It would fit the decor of almost any bathroom. I would love a clear scale. I think that would look really cool.


The TLDR Breakdown

What I Like:
  • Sleek design
  • Light weight
  • Accurate measurements
  • Green/Red display makes weight management easy
  • Automatically recognizes user (we have two profiles on our, one for me one for him)

What I Dislike:
  • Really, the only thing I dislike about the scale is the BMI tracking, as the BMI system is not an accurate measurement of body fat content. The BMI does not take into account muscle, and since muscle weighs more than fat it may tell that a person is obese when they are in fact not. It may be useful to some, but totally inaccurate for others. Personally when using this device I tend to disregard the BMI aspect of it and just focus on the weight aspect of it. This isn't really a fault of the scale itself. 

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Post may contain amazon affiliate link.