8/26/14

One Direction The Looks Collection Now Available at Macy's!

How exciting! One Direction's new "The Looks Collection" makeup kits are now available at Macy's! This collection consists of 3 exclusive makeup kits, each with their ow unique pieces. Each set comes in a collectible keepsake tin. Inside each tin are bold and beautiful lip sticks, eye liners and shadows,  nail polishes and stencil sets. Personally, I would love to try the Midnight Memories Kit. I am all about red lips and dark eyes.

Much like the One Direction band members themselves, this prestige make-up line is fun, bold and a tad mischievous, featuring vivid shades, premium formulas and chic, collectible packaging and components. 

I am a huge fan of fun packaging when it comes to makeup. I love when the packaging is asbeautiful as the makeup I am using. The new One Direction makeup packaging is so fun.



25 lucky people win the Looks Collection, autographed by the members of One Direction. Enter using the widget below. Winners will be contacted by the sponsor. I am not the host of the giveaway and it is not guaranteed that winners will be from my blog, as this giveaway is hosted on many different blogs. Official rules can be seen my clicking "view official rules" down below. Good luck!

 Be sure to check out the Facebook page to learn more about this edgy collection! 

*This is a sponsored post, powered by BrandBacker. I was not compensated for this blog post*
;value="22654" />

RTGS 20 Micro LEDs String Lights Review

   We love playing with different types of lighting in my home. Most of the lights in our apartment are Hue Phillips LED wireless lights. They can be turned on and off with out cell phones, tablets, and computers. We can change how dim or bright we want them, set them to a timer, and even change the color of them whenever we feel like. I recently got the chance to test out some Rtgs 20 Micro LEDs String Lights in the color Blue. Since we love playing with our lighting so much, I jumped at the opportunity!


   These blue lights are perfect for party lighting, some accent lighting, or as a makeshift flashlight when you find that that batteries have died in your real flashlight. There are 20 bright lights, spaced out four inches apart, on each 7foot strand. The wire is so easy to manipulate, you can create any shape you wish, and they will fit almost anywhere. My boyfriend has a Parrot AR Drone Quadricopter that he plans to attach these lights too for some easy night flying. I am thinking about using them sewing them to a sweater for an Ugly Sweater christmas party!

   I like the idea of having a lot of light near my makeup mirror. These lights in white would be absolylty perfect for that. I did test it out with my blue lights, and while it looked cool, it wouldn't really be the perfect lighting for putting on makeup. I do think that they would look really neat in the pot of a house plant, behind a fish tank, or around your windows. Green and red lights could be combined for a beautiful Christmas wreath!
Lights, in the dark 


 Blue light makeup mirror

 DIY Flashlight: Light strands and clear "frosted" mug


   The Rtgs 20 Micro LEDs String Lights is so simple to use. It takes 3 AA batteries (not included) in a clear battery pack. There is a large toggle switch clearly labeled On/Off. It is light weight, making it easily to hang. 

   These lights come with a 2 year warranty. If for any reason you are unsatisfied with your purchase, or the item breaks, simply contact RTGS by phone or email and they will work with you unitl you are satisfied.

    Features as listed on Amazon:
  • 20 Super Bright Blue Color LEDs Lights on 7 Ft Long Silver Ultra Thin Wire with 4 Inches Distance Between LED Bulbs and 12 Inches Clear Cable Between Wire and Battery Box. TOTAL STRING LENGHT OVER 7.5 FEET.
  • Lights Have Over 20 Years of Life Span and Use Fraction of Energy Needed by Regular Light Strings. They are also much brighter than Starry Lights or Fairy Lights.
  • Ultra Thin, Bendable but Sturdy Wire with LED Lights is Totally Submersible but NOT BATTERY BOX!!!
  • Newest Clear and Small Battery Box That is Easy to Hide Requires 3 AA Batteries (Not Included)
  • Over 48 Hours Non Stop Operating Time and Much Longer When Used with Breaks

What I like about the product:
  • Very bright blue light
  • Bendable, takes any shape you need
  • Lightweight, fits almost anywhere
  • Ships quickly
Dislikes or Suggestions:
  • I would love to be able to change the color or intensity of the lights.
  • This seems to be for indoor use only, it would be great if created for indoor and outdoor use. These could be a great camping accessory. I do think the battery pack would have to be remade to accommodate this, as there are some holes in it that dirt or rain could get in.
   Overall, I am pleased with these lights. They are simple to use, as a light like this should be. There are so many uses for them, really the only limit is your imagination. These lights can be purchased on Amazon for $6.25, free 2 day shipping if you have amazon prime!

Sound off in the comments: How would you use these lights if you had them? 

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

8/25/14

Bloggers Helping Bloggers: Help me win my dream vacation.

Hey guys, I would love it if you would vote for me to win this contest! The prize is a 5 day trip to one of my favorite resorts in Cancun. I would love to be able to win this for my boyfriend and myself. It's super simple to vote. Just click here and then click vote. The photo should look like this:

Need help with something? Leave your link in the comments! This includes twitter follows, facebook likes, blog comments, page views... Lets help each other out!


8/23/14

8/21/14

Fulcrum Gallery: Liz Jardine Sun Shower Print Review

*Disclaimer, I was given a free product in exchange for this review, opinions expressed however are my own.*

Since I live in an apartment and am on a recent college graduate budget, interior design hasn't been one of my main priorities. I haven't really put much effort into decorations and such. Don't get me wrong, I have the occasional painting or photograph hanging here and there, but nothing special. My walls have always just been kinda bland. I was elated when Fulcrum Gallery reached out to me for a review.  I was given the opportunity to choose a design under an allotted price point to review for free.

  Fulcrum Gallery launched in 2002, when two friends believed in the same ideology: " do what you love, money will follow".  When it was first started, the site was a "view only" art site. Salvador Dali was the first artist featured on the site. As time went on, Fulcrum Gallery allowed artists to submit their work to be featured on their site. As more and more artists submitted their work and to the disappointment of site viewers who were unable to purchase their favorite pieces, Fulcrum Gallery went into sales. The online store opened up in 2003.

  Originally, the Fulcrum Gallery store off hundreds of all original artwork pieces. In 2004 Fulcrum Gallery went into the fine print business, expanding from hundreds of paintings to thousands of paintings and prints, this same year they also started to offer framing for paintings and prints. Now you can search their site and find 200,000 beautiful prints. The creators of Fulcrum Gallery take pride in their "blood, sweat, and tears" founded business.

  Fulcrum Gallery offers a 30 day satisfaction guarantee. If you are unsatisfied with your order, for any reason-no questions asked, you may return the product for a full refund or replacement.

  On the Fulcrum Gallery site, you can find artwork for any room in your house. You are able to search artwork by room, color, price, artists, style, and size. I was most interested in finding a piece to in my living room. My living room is a light shade of blue, and I thought it might be hard to find a piece to match. I first started my search my looking at the Living Room section of the site. From there, I filtered by size. I wanted something large so I selected "at least 24 inches". I also filtered artwork by selection pieces that were the color blue. I fell in love with a print right on the first page by Liz Jardine titled Sun Shower. This contemporary tree wall art fit beautifully into my living room. The colors were spot on, over all I am very impressed with this print. I opted to not have it framed, as the cost brought it over the allotted value that I was offered to choose from. This item shipped out super quick, I had it within days of first speaking to the company.

Print as shown on the website:

Print I received:


Packaging:


Out of the box:




About this print:
  The Sun Shower fine art print by Liz Jardine is simply beautiful. I find it to be very unique, I have not seen anything like it in the homes of my friends. I love the colors in this print, and how well they go with my living room. I can't really say that there is anything I dislike about this product. This print starts at $36.59. The cost goes up depending on how you customize the print. You can have it laminated or framed, both of which bring the cost of the item up. 

  Fulcrum Gallery was with me every step of the way. They made choosing this print so simple and notified me as soon as it shipped.  I am impressed with how friendly the Web Promotions department was. 


Likes:

  • Fast Shipping
  • High Quality Print
  • Beautiful Colors
  • Friendly Staff
Dislikes:
  • Honestly, I cannot think of anything I dislike about this print or the company. I am very impressed.


Sound off in the comments: Do you have a favorite painting or artist? 

8/20/14

Todays workout: Fitness Blender's 5 Day Workout Challenge Day 1 Video

   UGH, today was a tough one! It has been raining all day so instead of going for a run I decided to do a free workout video on youtube from the Fitness Blender channel. I really enjoy doing their videos. I like that they aren't screaming in your face like a lot of the videos you see advertised on television. Fitness blender has videos for all fitness levels. I started out doing their low impact cardio videos two months ago. I certainly would not have been able to finish this if I hadn't! I love that they making out seem like fun, and that they offer their videos for free on youtube. I don't really plan to do the whole workout challenge unless it continues to be rainy outside or I just don't want to get ready to leave the house. I might add in another video before the night is over.



   I didn't read the description before doing this video, and if I had I would have noticed that you do need some weights for a few of the exercises in the video. I don't have any weights so I substituted in some heave objects that I found around the house. I might just have to get some weights now because that was a pain!

Workout outfit of the day:
 A pair of  Walmart Danskin Now shorts, a black cami from Kohls, and the Old Navy sneakers I talked about in the previous blog post.



 
Initial Thoughts: Oh, this won't be so bad.


End thoughts: There is a reason we are sitting on the floor. My jello legs won't stand up!






8/18/14

Todays Workout: 1.7 Miles Walk and Run

I got some new shoes for my workouts as my Nikes are pretty much on their last day. These Women's Mesh Running Sneakers are from Old Navy. I really wanted their hot pink ones but they were sold out in store. I purchased these last night because I was in need of new running shoes. These were very comfortable and light. More comfy than my Nikes even! The mesh top allowed air in and out, this kept my foot cool. I did size up because my normal size was too small in this shoe. My entire workout wardrobe basically consists of Old Navy gear. Being plus size, it can be hard to find good workout clothes that fit. I really like the Old Navy Active collection. I have two of their active tops, two pairs of compression capri leggings, and now a pair of their sneakers.

         
*excuse my leg stubble*

Todays running route was my usual route. I run through 2 cemeteries in my little town. They have hills and flat paved roads. 


 My workout music today consisted of the Foxy Shazam pandora station. 
This gets me pumped every time.




 Mid run selfie, it's scary. 
This top is part of the Old Navy Active collection. I purchased this back in April and it is still my favorite workout shirt!

Run breakdown:
The first mile(1 mile): 14minutes 24 seconds This includes a 3 minute break, I forgot to pause the timer. I ran this mile
The last .7 mile (point 7 mile): 13 minutes 37 seconds. I walked this last .7 mile. 

Last Mondays run was much better, but this was okay considering I haven't been out running since last week. I really need to be more consistent as I have my first 5k race next month. I didn't bring a water bottle, which I think really would have helped. 

*NOT A SPONSORED POST*

8/11/14

Todays workout: 2.2mi run&walk

For the past couple of months I have been going for walks in my neighborhood to keep active. Each time I increase the distance a little bit. Today I hit a milestone! I ran my fastest mile and finished a loger walk quicker than I have completed any of my shorter walks, by about 10 minutes. I am so excited! I was on a cross country team when I was in 8th grade, and I was always the last to finish. Today I beat my middle school time and can run farther and faster than I have ever been able to run! I completed my mile in 10 minutes and 55 seconds. I am well aware that this isn't a great time, but it is my best time, and I am proud of it!


 Time breakdown:
  • The first mile I ran, my time was 10 minutes and 55 seconds.
  • I walked the second mile, I took a break to visit some animals, and rested for minute or two. This            mile time was 18 minutes and 15 seconds. 
  • I  had .2 miles till I was home. This last .2 miles took 2 minutes 40 seconds. 
  • Total time: 31minutes 54 seconds.
Todays Workout Outfit of The Day:



Bonus photos: How cute are these guys!?


Insane Inflatable 5k

Oh boy, what have I done?! Yesetrday I signed up for the Insane Inflatable 5k. This will be the first 5k that I will run in. I have participated in many 5k walks before, but running will certainly be a challenge. It is no secret that I am totally out of shape and overweigh. I thought this would be a way to motivate me into being more active. I am not ashamed of my body, but I would like to be more fit. The race is September 28th and I have joined the 10:45 time slot on a team called "Win or Lose, We Still Booze". What a cute name! I guess it's time that I start training! Wondering what the Insane Inflatable 5k race is? Check out the video below! Do you have any advice for me? Leave any words of wisdom in the comments! Is there race near you?




 I have not nor will I be compensated for this post. I wrote it on my own with no expectation of compensation. I wrote this to talk about the journey I will be making as this race gets closer.

PocketDerm Online Dermatologist

Does someone in yours household suffer from acne? If so, check out the video below to learn how to manage and get rid of it. I had acne in middle school and high school. It was so painful, I really wish I knew about this product then! PocketDerm is a new service which enables you to see a dermatologist online and get a prescription acne medication shipped to your door. Check out the video then Get your first month FREE by clicking here.
*Disclaimer: Post contains affiliate links*
Sound off in the comments: What did you learn while watching the video? Have you ever suffered from acne? How did you keep it under control?

8/7/14

Nana Dees Lava Love Body Lotion: Review & Giveaway

*Disclaimer: I received a small sample of Lava Love lotion, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.*

Made by moms, Nana Dees spa quality products are made from natural ingredients that smooth, moisturize, pamper, and nurture your skin. From bath products, to body and feet products, Nana Dees offers many types of products! You are sure to find what you're looking for.

Nana Dees offer three types of Bath products: Fizzies, Soaps, and Bath Salts. The product that caught my eye the most in this category would have to be their Bath Fizzies. There are 10 different types of fizzies that can be purchased. These fizzes will leave your water colorful and your skin feeling and smelling great! Lets not forget how cute they are!
source: http://www.nanadees.com/category-s/1884.htm

In the Foot category you can find creams, soaks, and oils. The foot creams have not yet been released on the website. There are three different foot soaks available for purchase. There are also three different oils available.



In the Body category you can find lotions, massage oils, and  perfume oils. There are 7 different scents for the lotions, and you can buy them in 3 different sizes. The lotions are made in small batches, by hand, with love! You can be sure that the lotion you receive is of the highest quality. These lotions are packed with skin loving oils that are great for all skin types. The perfume oils come in a small container with a rollerball for easy application. These perfumes will leaving your skin feeling great, and since they are made with quality oils that won't harm your skin!

I had the opportunity to receive a small sample of Lava Love lotion, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. This lotion has the most beautiful scent and left my skin feeling so soft. My skin has been so rough since the crappy New York winter we had and finding a lotion to sooth my skin has been impossible. I wish I could have a lifetime supply of this lotion. It goes on so smooth, is thick and rich, and doesn't leave my skin feeling oily like a lot of the healing lotions I have tried do. Did I mention that the scent is amazing? It is soft and warm. I wish you could all smell it! I was a little surprised that the product came out white, for some reason I thought the bottle was clear and the product was pink, but that is perfectly fine.


This lotion is perfect for romantic nights out or a night out on the town. The scent lasts for hours. I applied it before doing some heavy cleaning (including ferret cages) and the scent remained on my skin. I really respect that about a product. I hate having to reapply over and over to keep the scent fresh.





Ingredients for the Lava Love lotion include:
 Purified Water, Sweet Almond Oil (Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis), Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii), Avocado Oil (Persea Gratissima), Cocos nucifera (Coconut Oil) Emulsifying Wax NF, Stearic Acid, , Essential Oil, Germaben II E, Vitamin E

 What I like about the product:
  • Leaves my skin feeling amazing
  • Has a beautiful scent 
  • Doesn't leave skin feeling oily
  • Made from natural products, no harsh chemicals
What I dislike:
  • That I don't have a lifetime supply of this product. =p
  • The bottle is a little hard to squeeze
Interested in learning more about Nana Dees? Check out the link below:

Want to buy this product for yourself? Nana Dees has graciously offered up an exclusive coupon for my readers to use on their website. Using coupon code Gabby20 will save you 20% on your purchase of $30 or more! Hurry though, this won't last long! It expires September 7th.

I got to try the lotion, one lucky winner will get to try an Amber Scented Bath Fizzy! This is open to US residents who are 18 years or older, unless you have parental permission to enter. Void where prohibited. Enter using the rafflecopter form below. You must follow instructions on each entry that you do. You do not have to do all of the entries, just the ones you want. The more you do the better chance of winning you have. To see the instructions on an entry hit the +1 (or whichever number that entry has) button. Each entry has a different instruction. Once the giveaway has ended a winner will be emailed, and will have 24 hours to email me back with the requested information, unless they have provided mailing info in the giveaway form. Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sound off in the comments below: What are your favorite bath/shower products?

8/6/14

Green Virgin Products: Liquid Soap Nuts




Green Virgin Products focuses on selling non-toxic and eco-friendly products that don't cost an arm and a leg. They use only high quality ingredients while offering the lowest possible prices. Green Virgin Products takes pride in being an American business that customers can trust. Customers can buy with confidence knowing that they can return products up to 90 days after purchase. Since the products contain only natural non-toxic ingredients you can feel great knowing that your purchase does not harm the environment!

Green Virgin Products sent me one bottle of Liquid Soap Nuts laundry detergent in exchange for an honest and unbiassed review. What are soap nuts? To be honest, I didn't know either before I received the product. Soap nuts are the fruit from Chinese Soap Berry Trees. To make this liquid detergent, soap nuts are harvested and sun dried. Saponin is then extracted using water, no chemicals are added! High tech filters are used to remove debris and then a nontoxic preservative is added. This keeps the product fresh. Without these preservatives the product would only be good for a week or two.

 



















The Liquid Soap Nuts comes in a white pump bottle. Instructions say to pump 3 pumps in each load of laundry in a top load washer. Each 8oz bottle will last for 120 loads of laundry. I found the pump bottle super simple to use. there is no measuring or lifting of heavy bottles. This laundry detergent did leave my laundry clean and fresh. The laundry was also very soft. I have a an energy efficient washer, it tends to be weaker than most washers I have used. This causes a lot of detergents to stain my laundry. I really like that this product did not stain or discolor my laundry. Overall, I really like this product.


What I like about Liquid Soap Nuts from Green Virgin Products:
  • It's an American made product
  • Keeps my laundry looking and feeling fresh and clean
  • Doesn't stain my laundry like some detergents do
What I dislike about this product:
  • The smell, but it washes out through the rise cycles. 


Liquid Soap Nuts are not the only product that can be purchased from Green Virgin Products. They also sell teas, deodorants, hand soaps, and stainless steel water bottles. You can check out these products and learn more about Green Virgin products by checking out the links below!


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

August 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Sneak Peek No. 4!

Wow, Ipsy sure is sending out these sneak peeks quickly this month! Here is another look at what could be in your bag this month!

No need to take notes! One of these fabulous beauties will take your skin or hair to the head of the class. What fave products do you use to "cheat" great hair and skin?-Ipsy Facebook page

Pore No More Full Size $45
Paulas Choice Clear  Moisturizer Sample Size $8.00 Full Size 27

Ipsy did open the Glam rooms early this year so we get to see what we are getting now! Here is a peek at what I am getting in my bag:
I am super excited about all of these products. I can't wait to try the Sheer Glo product and I could always use some new lip balm!


Not signed up for this subscription yet? What are you waiting for? It is only $10 a month, taxes apply in some states, free shipping to all 50 states! Each month you will receive 4-5 awesome sample size and full size beauty product! Canadians can sign up for the $10 a month bag as well, but there is a USD $4.95/month shipping fee. I have had this subscription for almost two years. It is my favorite beauty subscription that I have tried so far! You can earn points for free full size products by reviewing the products you received right on their website and referring friends!  You can sign up here!

*Ipsy is a subscription that I pay for, I have not been compensated or bribed for writing this post in any way*

Sound off in the comments: What do you do to keep your skin or hair healthy looking!

Save money and time with Amazon Back to School sales!



Do you have a kid in school? School shopping can be super expensive and a pain in the neck! Be sure to  Shop Amazon - Save Time and Money with School Lists  to find everything you need! Amazon has made it easy! You can search to see if your school has submitted the list of supplies that your child will need or search my grade to see what popular items are for kids in your childs grade!

From the Amazon website: Welcome to Amazon School Lists, a new way for K-12 teachers to create and share online back-to-school supply lists with parents. With everything from pencils and rulers to calculators and binders, parents can complete back-to-school shopping in just a few clicks. They can also copy, save or print the list. When Kindergarten, elementary school, middle school, and high school teachers and parents are on the same page about supplies, kids get off to a great start.


Sound off in the comments: What is the most outrageous thing that your child needed for back to school?

*Post Contains Affiliate Links